Jan Křtitel Vaňhal and his friends

Musica Florea

Jan Křtitel Vaňhal and his friends

    Opening concert of Valtice Baroque Night



John Baptist Vanhal ranks among the most prominent composers of the late 18th century. In Viennese classicism he rightfully occupies a position next to Joseph Haydn and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Vanhal belongs to the best authors in the subgenre of symphonies written in a minor key, which appeared in late 1760’s.

His Symphony in f minor (bryan f1), is unique already in its choice of key. Together with Symphony in c minor it is a perfect example of music from the short period called sometimes Sturm und Drang. Composed probably in 1773—1774, it ranks among Vanhal’s mature symphonic works. It is very impressive and belongs among the Vanhal’s best works. Especially striking is the first movement, transmitting a gloomy atmosphere.

The second movement, Cantabile, attracts by a remarkable viola solo and in its character resembles a part of a solo instrumental concert, a feature occurring more frequently in Vanhal’s music. While this symphony is in three movements, the symphony in c minor, has already the classical four-movement structure with the minuet and the final allegro. Without any concern, both symphonies can be compared with those by more famous masters: Haydn (no. 44, in E minor), or Mozart (no. 25, G minor, KV 183) which were written in the same period.

Between the two symphonies of today’s evening, there is inserted a rather unique composition written by another Czech composer, Franz Ignaz Anton Tuma (1704–1774). Although he spent half of his live Vienna (partially as a court organist) and dedicated himself mostly to church compositions, among his works there is also this remarkable Sonata for eight concerted instrumental voices including a pair of French horns.





violin – Magdalena Malá, Martina Kuncl Štillerová, Veronika Manová,
Simona Tydlitátová, Jiřina Štrynclová, Petra Ščevková

viol – Lýdie Cillerová, Veronika Svačinová

cello Marek Štryncl

double bass – Ondřej Štajnochr

oboe Inge Marg, Marta Neumannová

bassoon – Kryštof Lada

horn Jiří Tarantík, Jana Švadlenková, Krzystof Bialasik

soloists –  Jana Švadlenková, Jiří Tarantík

conductor Marek Štryncl